Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

fullsizeoutput_117d

This is my personal experience with the book Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. I picked this book up at the beginning of the year, with the yearning of new inspiration for the start of a great 2017. While browsing the shelves of novels in Target, my eye caught sight of a vibrant, rainbow cover. Upon further investigation, I came across the words “Big Magic.” Intrigued, I read the subtitle. “Creative living beyond fear.” And that was it. That was all I needed to see before picking it up and bringing it to the cash register.

You see, creativity is something that I highly value. And I mean really highly.

Fear is something I deal with every day. And I mean every. single. day.

I love to create.  I’ve always been drawn to the more creative side of life. I love writing, photography, art, and music. I just love things that aren’t overly technical, and have room for originality. Unfortunately, however, that means that there is a lot of gray area when it comes to creativity and the arts. There is no set “good” or set “bad”because the standards don’t exist in the arts, and if it does, it’s constantly changing. Everyone has their own idea of whats good and whats bad. What does this cause? Fear. Fear that your creation won’t be perceived correctly, it won’t be perceived at all, or that it won’t meet others expectations. For this reason, the one line “Creative living beyond fear,” is enough for thousands of people to immediately relate to this book.

In the book, Gilbert shares her ideas of what creativity is, and how you gain it. She addresses the fear in creativity, and explains her personal experiences with it. There is a collection of short stories within the book that further explain Gilbert’s philosophies. The six parts of the book- courage, enchantment, permission, persistence, trust, and divinity- each contain concepts that I have never heard or thought of before. This book truly brings a whole new perspective to the world of creativity.

IMG_2969A look at the beginning page. A simple yet powerful definition.

I would recommend this book to anyone who feels that they are lacking creativity, or lacking the courage to be creative. This book is not only for people who want to be in the creative field; but also to people who feel the need to bring more passion and adventure into their everyday lives.

IMG_2967

All photos taken on an iPhone 6s.

Leave a Reply

