Being Alone vs. Being lonely

img_1649There is a common misconception that being alone and being lonely are the same thing. I used to believe this as well; I would feel incomplete without my friends with me. However, I’ve learned that there is nothing wrong with wanting to be alone somtimes. For introverts like me, being alone re-energizes you and your mental state; so that later on, you are able to communicate and interact to others with a clear and open mind. I am not saying that human interaction is not important; I actually believe that being able to socialize is one of the most fulfilling and significant aspects of life. However, I think being able to enjoy your own presence is something that is not emphasized enough. I mean, many say that people should travel alone at least once in their lives. I always wondered, “Why is that? What could possibly be better about traveling alone? If you’re going to spend so much money to travel somewhere, wouldn’t you want to share that once-in-a-lifetime experience with somebody?” These questions would never leave my mind when I saw articles and posts about people traveling by themselves. My point of realization wasn’t doing it myself because- well, I’m way too young as of now. However, with constant thoughts and comparing to my personal experiences with being alone, I have come to the conclusion that being alone allows you to just absorb. When you are alone, you can truly put yourself in the moment and take in everything around you whole-heartedly.

Although being alone does not mean you are lonely, it can lead you to become lonely. I think loneliness is when you have no one you can count on or trust. Just because you are alone, that does not mean you are lonely and just because you are lonely, that does not mean you are alone. People (even if they are surrounded by family and friends) may feel lonely because they don’t feel they have anyone they can truly express themselves with. 

So, enjoy your alone time and when it comes to friendships and other relationships, keep in mind that it’s all about quality over quantity.

Photo taken on an iPhone 6s with a macro lens.

One thought on “Being Alone vs. Being lonely

Leave a Reply

